The Chocolate Almost-Brownie Cake Squares

by bfbaker

october3 049october3 047 october3 048

So it was a cold Sunday evening, I’d been out all day exploring Calke Abbey (a rather beautiful old manor house) and I had been caught in the rain more times than I’d care to count. My toes were frozen, my hair was frizzy beyond belief and I had the most ginormous chocolate craving. So, when I got into the kitchen yesterday evening I didn’t know exactly what I was going to bake but, by thunder, it was going to involve some rich, chocolaty Bourneville cocoa powder.

I discovered some walnuts still in the house from the previous weekend’s baking and my mama had just brewed a cafetiere of strong, Italian coffee thus it seemed fate decided I would bake a tray of chocolate cake, filled with chopped walnuts and topped with a little swirl of coffee buttercream. They’re almost brownies, except they aren’t as dense! And, as we discovered after dinner this evening, they are super tasty with a little scoop of salted caramel ice cream.

Recipe

200g plain flour

120g dark brown sugar

80g caster sugar

200g butter

2 free range eggs

3 tbsp cocoa

80g chopped walnuts

2 ½ tsp baking powder

Buttercream

2 tbsp freshly brewed coffee

50g unsalted butter

120g icing sugar

Method

  1. Pre-heat your oven to 180° and line a 10” by 5” baking tray with greaseproof paper.

  2. Cream together the butter and sugars.

  3. Add in chopped walnuts, sifted flour, eggs, cocoa and baking powder and whisk up into a gloriously thick, creamy batter. I prefer to use an electric whisk because I’m a lazy madam…and it blends everything together really well.

  4. Pour the mixture into your baking tray and pop into the oven for 30/35 minutes until nice and firm.

  5. Whilst your cake is cooling it’s time to get that buttercream on the go.

  6. Blend together your butter and sifted icing sugar, adding the coffee little by little until you have a nice firm, light brown buttercream!

  7. Once the cake is cool, cut it into squares, ice and enjoy!

