Festive Carrot and Orange Cake!

by bfbaker

oranges

Image from Pinterest, not sure of it’s exact origin.

For some bizarre reason I have never attempted a carrot cake, and for another bizarre reason I took no photos of this bake (I know, I know, who am I?!), but when a friend of mine’s birthday was coming up and he said he liked carrot cake I jumped at the chance to whip one up. I looked at a few recipes and saw, much to my dismay, that most were made with a large quantity of vegetable oil. Disaster; I didn’t have any, and I had a tight schedule, so I had to ensure everything was beautifully whipped up and the batter was lovely moist to make up for using butter instead of oil.

Anyway, despite the lack of documentation and despite my tinkering of the recipe, I have to say I was incredibly proud of this bake – it was so flipping tasty (yeah, that modest)! The orange and cinnamon also made it taste wonderfully festive so it was perfect for a December birthday and…can I tell you a secret? It was a heck of a lot tastier than the carrot and orange juice I once tried!

Recipe

250g plain flour

300g dark brown sugar

3 eggs

300g butter

200g grated carrot

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 tsp grated nutmeg

1tbsp cinnamon

1 ½ tsp baking powder

50ml milk

Orange marmalade

Orange zest

Buttercream

100g butter

220g icing sugar

½ tsp vanilla extract

1 Orange

3 tbsp freshly squeezed orange juice

  1. Preheat oven to 180 and lightly grease two 8” circle pans.

  2. Cream together butter and sugar until really light and fluffy.

  3. In a separate bowl beat the eggs well and add them to the butter and sugar. Also add in the carrots, flour, baking powder, cinnamon, nutmeg, milk and the zest of half an orange and beat together until you get a nice, smooth batter (as smooth as a carrot filled mixture can get anyway!) and fill both cake tins.

  4. Pop into the oven for 20/25 minutes until the sponge is nice, springy and moist.

  5. When your cakes are almost cool take two tablespoons of orange marmalade in a little bowl and beat until it’s nice and runny then take your bottom layer and brush with a layer of the marmalade. Then take the freshly squeezed juice from half an orange and drizzle it over the top of your top cake layer.

  6. Orange Buttercream; cream together the chilled butter and vanilla then add in the orange juice and icing sugar. When it’s all combined stir in the grated zest of half an orange.

  7. Put a very thin layer of icing on top of the bottom, marmalade-coated sponge and place the other sponge on top. Decorate with a centimetre-thick layer of butter cream and finish by grating more orange zest on top. Enjoy!

