Hodge Podge Sticky Barbecue Ribs

by bfbaker

jan feb 387  jan feb 389

jan feb 397

Copyright – the name of this dish belongs to Adam Gibson. Inspirational wee thing.

Oh my goodness I have been the most negligent blogger recently; please forgive me, I’m here hat in and hand and everything, clutching a recipe for gorgeous sticky barbecue ribs hoping you’ll not judge me too harshly for hiding away from the kitchen this past couple of weeks and hitting my job applications like a ton of bricks. For the past three weeks I’ve been applying like a madwoman and now I finally feel like I’ve hit my stride and I can start fitting my blogging into my day too!

It was Tuesday night and that means my lovely Nanna was coming over and I cook something tasty for her and my brother (and myself, of course) each week. Now I’m sure you’ve heard me lament my lack of grill for slow-cooking meat before so I shan’t bore you with my rant again – however, if you do have a nifty barbecue or something and can slow cook these for 2/3 hours, please do!

This meal sort of came out of necessity. The weather earlier was vile (as I’m sure you know!) and I wasn’t braving a trip to the shops so I opened the freezer and a rack of ribs were winking at me, begging to be used. So I came up with a fairly basic glaze and, well, bob’s your uncle really. That was dinner sorted. Easy peasy lemon squeezy.

Recipe

A rack of ribs (mine weighed about 500g)

1 tbsp smoked paprika

1 tbsp cumin

1 tsp rock salt

2 tbsp soya sauce

3 tbsp ketchup

3 tbsp clear honey

4 garlic cloves (crushed)

  1. Pop your ribs on a tray with a large sheet of foil beneath them (enough to be able to wrap it over the ribs but not tightly. You want to create a sort of foil tent.

  2. Add all your ingredients for your glaze to a bowl and mix well.

  3. Coat ribs in the sauce and leave to marinade. Overnight, if possible.

  4. Now. You want to cook these slowly. I did mine at 120 for three hours but I could have happily left them in there for another two. The meat with be sticky, succulent and tender and should just melt right off the bone!

