Pancakes For All!

by bfbaker


jan feb 256

So. Shrove Tuesday, Pancake Day, Mardi Gras – whatever you wish to call it – is upon us! Lent begins tomorrow, and whilst I’m not particularly religious, I do like to partake in the notion of fasting from one of your vices for a while. Last year I picked chocolate and sweeties – sour sweets are my biggest weakness – and I feel that may be my choice again this year although I am toying with the idea of giving up gluten (who am I kidding I love toast and pasta way too much…). However, before we are weighed down with what we’re giving up, let us celebrate being able to eat all of those gloriously rich foods today guilt-free because it’s basically a national holiday and a human right to gorge ourselves on pancakes topped with all sorts of sweet and savoury wonders.

Now, I haven’t actually had pancakes yet today – Gasp! Shock! Horror! – because we’re having them for dessert this evening and I think I’m going to do both a traditional crepe-like pancake and some of those gloriously plump American pancakes too (and why the heck not?!). Now I’m a bit of a traditionalist, I have to say, and I like mine with a simple maple syrup or with plenty of sharp, fresh lemon juice and crunchy sugar. Below is the recipe for my fluffy American pancakes as I’m going to have a play around with my crepe-like recipe this evening and will post that tomorrow!

How do you like your pancakes? And are you giving anything up for Lent?

Recipe;

Makes 6-8 pancakes.

2 tbsp melted butter/olive oil (you’ll need a little extra for greasing the pan!)

1 egg

100 plain flour

40g whole wheat flour

2 tsp baking powder

2 tbsp caster sugar

1 tsp vanilla essence

120ml milk

  1. Whisk up your egg, vanilla and milk.
  2. Add in your butter and sugar and slowly stir in your flours and baking powder. You want your batter nice and thick and maybe even a wee bit lumpy still.
  3. Grease a hot pan – use a bit of baking parchment with butter or oil on and be careful not to burn your fingers!
  4. Pour your batter into the pan – about a cm thick and about five inches wide – and wait for bubbles to start appearing in the mixture. This is a great time to add chocolate chips or pieces of fruit. When the bubbles are coming through, use a metal spatula and flip over onto the other side!
  5. If you pop your oven on about 50 and whack the pancakes in as you cook them this will keep them warm but not dry them out. Alternatively you could fill a saucepan with water on the hob and pop a plate on top; the simmering water will keep the pancakes on the plate nice and toasty so you can all eat them at once! Enjoy!
