Sweet and tender – FODMAP FRIENDLY – pork loin

by bfbaker

march 152 march 159

Hello, hello. Hope you’re all well.

 

Recently I’ve been playing around with this whole “eat clean” movement and looking into free-from cooking because well…it’s always good to have a wee hit of a challenge and it’s nice to be kind to our bodies. Now I know a lot of people that seem to suffer from IBS and intolerances that make their bodies reject all kinds of foods and it’s got me pondering how I can ferret out and devise tasty recipes for my loved ones who can’t eat whatever they like.

 

My cousin, Kerrie, has recently switched onto the FODMAP way of eating and that basically gets rid of a lot of options menu wise and, I have to admit, I think I’d be rubbish at it but she seems to have found little ways around it and appears to be coping well. She came over for dinner the other week and I was having kittens of all shapes and sizes about what I could feed her and what I couldn’t and I was desperately afraid of giving her something that would make her poorly. Cue me texting her nonstop during the day asking all sorts of questions about what I was allowed to cook for her. Poor girl will never come again.

 

However, I did succeed (she brought her own butter for the jacket potatoes but – hey – I’m not super woman here!) and she wasn’t poorly and it was super tasty.

 

Recipe

 

6 pork loin slices

1 tbsp paprika

1 tbsp sea salt

1 tsp cayenne pepper

1 tsp cracked black pepper

1 tbsp powdered coriander

1 tbsp cumin (I prefer whole cumin but powdered is fine)

1 tbsp thyme

2 tbsp brown sugar

A handful of cherry tomatoes

 

  1. Preheat your oven to 150.
  2. Unsheath a large sheet of tin foil and place it on a baking so that it’s got enough draped over the sides so that you can wrap up the pork in a loose, airy kind of tent.
  3. Chop your cherry tomatoes in half and place in the centre of the tin (normally I would use onions and garlic but that’s not FODMAP friendly!) so that you can layer your pork on top of them. Keeps the meat nice and moist and the acid juices will make it taste even better.
  4. Mix all of the ingredients together to create a dry rub and, after gently scoring the meat, massage the spices into the pork. Leave to marinade for as long as you wish. You might even want to do this in the morning or the night before.
  5. Layer the meat onto the tomatoes, wrap it up, and cook slowly for about two hours.
  6. In the last ten minutes unwrap the pork and whack the heat up to 200, this will brown it off nicely.
  7. I served with slow baked jacket potatoes and salad – FODMAP dressing of balsamic vinegar, extra virgin olive oil, salt and pepper – and enjoy!
