Fantastic Fajitas

by bfbaker

april 2 005 (1024x576)

april 2 013 (1024x600)

april 2 016 (1024x576)

april 2 018 (1024x576)

 

Mexican food on the menu again. I just can’t get enough.

Right. I’m going to put my hands up here and say I’m totally guilty of always, always relying on a certain famous Mexican-inspired brand to provide my fajita seasoning. Don’t ask me why, as I certainly couldn’t give you a decent enough answer, but I’ve never tried concocting my own spice mix before now (and even that was because we just couldn’t find any in the shop). Shocking, I know, but there we go. I think I’d always been afraid it was going to be crazy complicated with top-secret ingredients that I could never, ever, ever find and replicate the flavour of. But. It totally wasn’t and I don’t think I’ll ever buy a pre-made mix again; this was so much tastier and you have the opportunity to modify it to however you like. So. Put down the packet mixes, damn it, and get using that spice rack.

Recipe

Fajita Seasoning;

2 tbsp mild chilli powder

1 tbsp ground cumin

1 tbsp smoked paprika

1 tbsp paprika

1 tbsp dark brown sugar

1 tsp salt

1 tsp ground coriander

1 tsp cayenne pepper

Fajitas;

Fajita seasoning

3 chicken breast

2 bell peppers (I prefer red/yellow/orange)

1 red onion

Flour tortillas

  1. Mix together all your spices in a bowl – take a wee taste to make sure you’re happy – and pop to one side.

  2. Chop your onion and peppers and pop them in a pan with a little olive oil and salt to stop them from burning. When they’re all going a bit soft, and the onions translucent, throw in your chicken (cut up into nice bite-sized pieces, of course). Pop in a third of your spice mix now.

  3. When your chicken is looking almost cooked, throw in the rest of the spice mix and distribute throughout the pan. Pop your tortillas in an oven (or microwave) for a couple of minutes to warm them through.

  4. When everything is cooked (cut the biggest piece of chicken in half to double check) serve up with some sides – salad, sour cream, guacamole, salsa, cheese ect. – and enjoy!

 

