Easter Rocky Road Tray Bake

by bfbaker

DSC_1840

DSC_1846

DSC_1850

DSC_1854

DSC_1859

So, in my previous Easter post, I spoke about the O’Neill Easter madness but what I neglected to mention was my mama is equally as crazy about making us all look ridiculous in the name of Easter. Quizzes, fancy dress scavenger hunts, bonnet making and fashion shows to showcase our stellar new looks. Now, I can’t be there this year – I’m down in Kent – but I did leave them a parting gift of a scrummy and decadent Easter-themed tray bake…just a shame I’ll have to miss out on the chaos which is sure to ensue once again! 😉

I loved the look of this tray bake; the colours are lovely and pastel which screams Easter to me, the textures are a big, beautiful mesh and the ginger in the biscuits helps to counter all that sweet! Delish!

What’re your plans this bank holiday weekend?

Recipe;

250g ginger nuts
400g white chocolate
50g chilled marshmallows (I used mini ones, you could just chop up normal sized ones though)
40g dried apricots, chopped into nice slithers
100g mini eggs (I used mini mini eggs, from Tesco, and they were so small and cute but you can use the normal sized ones too!)

1. Pop a sheet of grease proof paper into a baking tray.
2. Bash up your biscuits. You’ll want some nice chunky bits and some mulch. Variety is the spice of life and all that.
3. Place half the broken up chocolate in a bowl over a sauce pan of water (do not let that water hit the bottom of the bowl; white chocolate is not very tolerant to heat and has a low scalding point). Slowly add the other chunks of chocolate into the already melted chocolate as this keeps it all from getting too hot and seizing. Seized chocolate is not easily recovered. Once it’s all melted, take it off the heat (careful not to let the steam from the water hit the chocolate as you move the bowl) and give it a good stir.
4. Pour your biscuits, chopped apricots, 35g marshmallows and 80g mini eggs into the chocolate. Mix around and pour into the tray. 5. Spread it all out evenly and top with remaining marshmallows and mini eggs.
Pop into the fridge for 2-4 hours before chopping up and scoffing!

Tip; use a dry metal spoon when stirring the chocolate. Any moisture with also make it seize…white chocolate is a precarious devil!

