Totally Nuts Banana (and Walnut) Ice Cream

by bfbaker

DSC_1914 (1024x576)

DSC_1915 (1024x576)

 

Yep. I went there with that title. It’s cheesy and awful but for now lets move onto the ice cream which is beyond tasty and ridiculously banana-y. My mama loves Chunky Monkey Ben & Jerry’s but we don’t seem to have been able to locate any for months and well…that just won’t do. So I decided to attempt to whip some up myself. And, as luck would have it, I only went and bloody succeeded. I’m a lucky wee egg like that sometimes. Mama liked it, my brother liked it and nana liked it so much that she went as far as to enquire whether the recipe was floating about on the “thing” yet and if it wasn’t why wasn’t it. I think she meant both a combination of blog and internet by the “thing” so here I am, appeasing her wishes.

So, yes. Give this a wee go now the weather is a-changing and the afternoons are lovely and warm and you’ll not be disappointed.

Recipe

397g condensed milk

600g double cream

1 tsp vanilla extract

4 bananas

150ml banana milkshake (or just milk, if you fancy)

75g roughly chopped walnuts

  1. Chop your banana up and pop in a blender with the milkshake. Blitz until it’s a sticky paste.

  2. With an electric whisk beat the cream, condensed milk, vanilla and banana mixture. You want this beaten until super thick and creamy – about 15 minutes, I’d say.

  3. Stir through the majority of walnuts then pour into a container. Top with the rest of the walnuts, pop on your lid and whack in the freezer for at least six hours. Take out the freezer 10/15 minutes before eating and enjoy. It’d be really great drizzled in caramel sauce

 

 

