Cracking Coconut Cake

by bfbaker

DSC_1975

 

Coconut cake. Who knew it was so popular? I made a batch last week and they seemed to disappear in record time. I wasn’t even aware I was a coconut fan, if I’m honest; it’s a fruit I tend to just not think much about. But yes, my spongy wee cakes topped with glorious lashings of bright white, coconut cream cheese frosting went down a bloody treat.

Now, I start my new job tomorrow down in that there big city of London so am currently back at my Dad’s for a couple of months, however, before I left my mama did have one final request…more coconut cakes. So, after waiting until the very last moment to pack (because I’m literally averse to packing for anything in good time), I knocked out another heap of cakes.

This would be lovely as a loaf, or occasion cake, but I made cupcakes because, well, that’s my prerogative!

Recipe

175g self-raising flour

2 tsp baking powder

175g unsalted butter

175g caster sugar

1 tsp vanilla extract

3 eggs (beaten)

3 tbsp coconut milk

50g desiccated coconut

  1. Preheat oven to 180.

  2. Cream together butter, sugar and vanilla.

  3. Gradually add both your flour and baking powder and beaten eggs to the butter and sugar.

  4. Mix in the desiccated coconut and milk until everything is combined. It’ll be a little lumpy because of the coconut, don’t fret.

  5. Pop the batter into your baking tins, turn the oven down to 170 and cook for 20 minutes or until a nice golden brown.

Coconut Cream Cheese Frosting

For 12 cupcakes.

200g cream cheese

50g butter

300g icing sugar

1 tsp vanilla extract

3 tbsp desiccated coconut

  1. Beat together the cream cheese and butter until combined.

  2. Stir in your icing, vanilla and coconut.

  3. Place in the fridge to firm up for at least 20 minutes before using.

I tend to make this frosting just after I’ve popped the cakes in the oven, that gives me a good 30-40 minutes (with cooling time) for it to firm up nicely.

 

 

