Raspberry and White Chocolate Shortbread Sandwich

by bfbaker

DSC_1977

DSC_1981

DSC_1984

DSC_1987

I don’t know about you guys but, for me, sometimes recipes are just kind of guidelines. Especially when it comes to flavour combinations. Obviously baking requires a little precision, a little science, but I think you should definitely take a wee bit of artistic license once in a while. Recipes are what I tend to use for inspiration, rather than instruction; I browse through blogs and books and wait for a little light bulb to ping above my head. I take a little of this, a little of that and throw in my own tastes – et voilà! Dinner/dessert/lunch/unnecessary but tasty indulgence is served.

With regards to this particular recipe – because I’m not the biggest fan of overtly sweet foods – I’d probably use a really nice dark chocolate next time instead of the white. Whilst I love white chocolate and raspberry together, I think the tartness and sweetness of the raspberry/lemon filling requires the bitterness of dark chocolate. But, you know, guidelines. Personal preference. All that jazz. Smother this wee treat in any kind of chocolate you prefer.

Recipe

4 egg yolks

400g sugar

300g plain flour

300g self raising flour

1 tsp salt

450g butter

300g raspberries

3 tbsp sugar

Juice and rind of a lemon

  1. Preheat oven to 180.

  2. Pop your raspberries, sugar and lemon juice/rind in a saucepan over a low heat. Just let the raspberries fall apart and turn syrupy, then take off the heat and pop to one side to cool.

  3. Shortbread; cream the butter until it’s soft and fluffy then stir in the egg yolks.

  4. Stir in the flours, sugar and salt to the egg and butter mixture. Get your hands in there and knead for a little – don’t overwork the dough though.

  5. Take half the dough and flatten it into a tray then slather on the raspberry mixture.

  6. With the other half of the dough create an almost breadcrumb-like consistency and sprinkle on top of the raspberry.

  7. Pop in the oven for thirty minutes until it’s nice and golden then leave to cool.

  8. Melt your chocolate, drizzle on top of your shortbread and enjoy!

 

